South African Car of the year finalists announced

AutoTrader has released the 14 finalists for their 2020 South African Car of the Year competition.

The cars will be put to the test on public roads and on the race track in March next year. They will be judged by a jury of 27 automotive writers selected by the South African Guild of Motoring Journalists (SAGMJ). The winners will be announced in April 2020.

In addition to the grand title, these finalists can also win one of seven other categories including: Family, Leisure, Lifestyle, Premium Car, Premium SUV, Sport/Performance or Urban.

AutoTrader chief executive George Mienie, said that members of the public have voted that they would like to see the Mazda3 to win.

“It triumphed in the consumer vote, where we had hundreds of thousands of votes. The consumer votes act as the 28th Juror in the competition. Mazda’s last win was back in 2008, with the Mazda2 1.5 Individual – so it will be interesting to see if this Japanese company can take top honours,” he said.

BMW 3 Series


Citroen C3 Aircross

Ford Ranger Raptor

Hyundai Atos

Jaguar I-Pace


Mercedes-Benz GLE

Peugeot 5008

Suzuki Swift Sport

Toyota Corolla Hatch

Toyota Rav4

Toyota GR Supra

Volkswagen T-Cross

Image: @DoughZAR/Twitter

Author:  Popular Mechanics – Leila Stein

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top